A Trip to Tibet-and the Kindness of Strangers

A year ago I had the great fortune of visiting Tibet. A place I had dreamed about visiting for many years as I’ve always admired the inherent kindness found within Buddhism and the peaceful legacy the monks, the nuns and the people of Tibet continue to leave through their quite, kind ways. My trip was heavenly, on so many planes, and I got to see the Himalayas without any obscuring clouds (which is quite unusal according to our guide), admire praying flags absolutely everywhere,

dine with some delightful Nomads in their tent while hiking, drink lots of butter tea (Tibet’s national past time), suffer from high altitude sickness,watch the monks debate

and introduce photos and videos of themselves to some precious children in a remote village. As I relished all of our meetings with yak (whom I adore, their physical beauty as well as their personality traits which come out when you hike together on the mountains), with Buddhas in all shapes and forms (in temples, by the roadside and carved in caves and mountains)

I wanted to bring the essence of Tibet with me to my homes in Sweden, NY and the Hamptons. And so I did. Or at least tried to do. My beautiful purchases from one store (that caters to a more International clientele) arrived in Sweden and NY a week later via UPS. The divine doors however, that I meant to use as paintings at the hotel (that was bought from an traditional Tibetan store that has less international customers) seemed to take a much longer time to arrive. It was sent via the Chinese version of UPS and though

I was told it could take a month or so, I got a bit worried when the six month mark had passed and still no doors.  As the store speaks limited English (and my Tibetan is even less existent than my Chinese) I realized the doors and I were in trouble. After recruiting my dermatologist in NY (who speaks Chinese) and a new acquaintance’ assistant (who speaks Tibetan) to call the store for me, I finally made some headway. And miraculously, a year later (to the date actually) after I had purchased the lovely doors, I received a super sweet message from the store keeper where she appologizes for any sadness this may have caused me and assures me they will do all in their power to find my doors or else find me new ones.  I wanted to share it with you all as I am impressed by the inherent kindness in Buddism and the people of Tibet and this woman confirmed all of that. Without a proof of purchase, she is happily working to find a way to please me. Though the doors have yet to arrive, our email correspondence brings a smile to my face every time. We are trying to embody the same kindness at the Maidstone as it is remarkable to be treated with such trust and respect and I do hope that if we ever mess up any of your stays or dining experiences, we will go to the same trouble to try to make it right.

Dear madam jenny

first of all i would like to say we are very sorry for late deliver your things…………..because of delivery counters fault….we gived your things on 23rd June 2009……to the delivery person. s hand…………but you didn’t get your things on time…………….so we are very sorry for that.

so i talk with delivery person about your things……..but they already send from here……. so they are searching your things in sang hai (name of city in china) i hope we ll find your things as soon as possible. And also they want your yahoo id…….2 contact with you  so , i give your id to them without your permission……. i m very sorry for that.

Mam, if we dnt find your things …….. then please dnt worry  about that we ll find same dorr as you bought ………and send to you  as soon as possible…     please give us some time to find your things.

mam we are apologize to you …….we are very sorry . but please dont worry we ll send your things ….. we need some time…….

withh warm wish
xxx gellery
lhasa ,tibet

Isn’t amazing to see how sweet and kind we can be with each other? This woman and I are now emailing quite frequently in our search for the doors and she gives me great hope for the future of all mankind. By giving a little, we get loads in return. Enjoy and see  you soon, (with the doors on the walls I hope…)

Jenny

2 responses to “A Trip to Tibet-and the Kindness of Strangers

  1. ‎…the sharing that makes the difference is the giving, not the “I want my share” – Dr. A.T Ariyaratne (Business and the Buddha)

  2. Pingback: Reissuinspistä messuilta | archie gone lebanon

Leave a Reply

